In many countries, children are given more freedom than in the past. Is this a positive or negative development?

There is no doubt that, nowadays, it is more common to observe children doing whatever they wish to do, whereas it had been completely opposite in the past. I consider this phenomenon as a double-edged sword, which means a number of issues in terms of child’s behaviour could emerge due to the lack of control, or conversely they can achieve top results by fulfilling their dreams without unexpected interruption.

On the one hand, availability of autonomy for young people often lead to unpleasant outcomes as they have no experience of what is generally acceptable or not. A child pestering their parents or caretakers to overspend on unnecessary items could be a clear example of this argument. Actually, ubiquity of social media has made it fairly easy to spread false beliefs, anti-social behaviour or radical ideas. Therefore, giving too much independence to unaware ones is not an option to make obeying individuals in a society. To make matters worse, one is absolutely not able to track the online activities children being involved in since they are accessible wherever needed.

On the other hand, a little bit of independence offered on appropriate time could present limitless benefits. This makes it clear that the stereotype children who are acting unusual and following a different path should be curbed is not necessarily proven true. Innately, parents tend to set boundaries to their sons or daughters despite having no ideas in terms of their children’s interests and desires. Apparently, world-famous successful people who set up their businesses from scratch have always gone in harmony with the will of themselves. That is why, one should not be restricted to conventional viewpoints but should be encouraged to embrace far more freedom so as not only to gain power but also to experience new adventures and to open more opportunities.

In conclusion, I think that people can guarantee extremely fortunate heirs breaking world records as long as they do not challenge the necessary unit regarding the nurture of youngesters. Nevertheless, there ought to be careful consideration so that such a autonomy would not create unprecedented problems.