In many countries, fewer people are reading books for pleasure than in the past. What do you think are the reasons for this trend? What effects might it have on individuals and society?

In this modern age, fewer people are reading in their leisure time compared to the past due to the rise of the digital entertainment.

One key reason of a decline in reading hobby is that many people are spending their time on digital media such as social platforms and digital games. Nowadays, many individuals are exposed to digital platforms since young age which has negative impact on their both physical and mental health. Digital screen emits blue light which may not only disrupt the neurology system but also the vision of human beings. Many researchers stated that children who exposed to reading since young age tend to have an advantage in their education. For instance, story books encourage children to visualize scenes, explore different worlds, understand diverse perspectives and cause-effect relationships. These effects stimulate children’s brains to improve their cognitive, analytical and critical thinking skills which are essential for subjects such as mathematical and science.

In addition to physical health side effects, people are losing their precious time by scrolling through digital media including social platforms. While books go through rigorous editing and fact-checking procedures before publishing, contents on digital platform often lack rules and regulations. In addition, there could be security threats on digital platforms which could break one’s privacy, digital crimes and impact on mental health.

In conclusion, people should be encouraged to read more in their leisure time, and to spend less in digital media.