In many countries, fewer people are reading books for pleasure than in the past. What do you think are the reasons for this trend? What effects might it have on individuals and society?

Globally, there has been a noticeable decline in people who read books in leisure time compared to the past. This trend is attributed to changes in the lifestyle and a rapid rise in digital entertainment, and it may have negative effects on both individuals and society.

One key reason for this change is the growth of the digital technology. With an easy access to digital devices such as smartphones and laptops, many individuals spend their time watching videos, surfing through social media platforms, and playing games. Digital entertainment is more visually engaging compared to books, and requires less concentration for people to focus, making it the top choice in leisure time. Another reason is the fast-paced lifestyle of the modern society. Nowadays, owing to the long working hours, competitiveness in careers and academic pressure, people are left with little energy to engage recreational reading in their spare time.

Decline in reading may contribute to the negative effects on both individuals and society. On an individual level, prolonged screentime not only leads to eyestrain but also poor sleep quality, affecting physical health negatively. In contrast, reading improve individual’s cognitive skills, analytical skills, and critical thinking skills by engaging readers to visualize scenes, explore different words, understand diverse perspectives, and understand cause-effect relationships. At the societal level, decline in reading habits may result in communities which are less capable of analysing complex issues which could weaken intellectual life.

In conclusion, modern lifestyle changes and the growth of digital sector are the main driving forces of the decline in reading habits, and this decline could negatively affect both individuals and society.