In many countries, it is mandatory for school children to wear uniforms. Do the advantages of this policy outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience

Wearing uniforms is mandatory for school children in majority countries. Although children are forced to buy new school uniform, i believe that wearing uniforms can avoid bullying between children. This is the reason why the benefit can outweigh the drawback.

Schools are not only for a middle or high income family, but also for a low income family. As we have known, every year or may by every six months, we should buy a new school uniform because the previous one become ugly and it is expensive. For example, in my country, we need to spend about $20 to buy a new school uniform and it is not a small amount of money for majority of us in Indonesia. However, I believe that school children still need to wear a uniforms.

On the other hand, wearing school uniforms can avoid bullying between children. If school give a freedom to their children and children have a right to choose what they want to wear, a children from a poor family can be bullied by other kids that come from a rich family. The reason is, a children from a poor family can only afford a cheap t-shirt while the other one can afford a high branded t-shirt, etc.

In conclusion, having our school children to wear uniform is better than give a freedom to them to wear everything they want even though children are forced to buy a new one.