In many countries, it is mandatory for school children to wear uniforms. Do the advantages of this policy outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In multiple countries, students become obliged to wear a unified dress code in their schools. The most controversial issue is whether this obligation’s advantages outweigh its disadvantages. This essay strongly agrees that wearing a uniform in school has more advantages.

On the one hand, some people believe that One major advantage of wearing uniforms in schools is that it reflects the discipline and respect of student for their school instructions. It may appear as simple as wearing same clothes with same colors, but it implicitly helps to teach children to obey and instill respect of their school. For instance, wearing a uniform while at school helps them remember that they are in a special place where they get knowledge and learn essential values.

On the other hand, others think that wearing uniforms in schools is useless and may even have multiple disadvantages. The most significant drawback is that wearing additional and unnecessary clothes can be annoying and uncomfortable. For instance, during hot days, people suffer from the heat and putting on another layer of clothes will make the suffering worse. I still remember when I was a college student in his last year, our school announced that it became mandatory to wear a uniform; all my classmates adapted to this policy, but once it started to get hot, everybody started complaining about the heat.

To conclude, although the uniform may feel uncomfortable in some days, it is still an effective way to teach children that school isn’t a random place and that it is important to respect it. I firmly believe that the advantages of uniforms in schools outweigh their disadvantages.