In many countries, more and more shops remain open until late every day of the week. Is it a positive or negative development for both the local community and shoppers?

Nowadays, the majority of shops in many countries remain open until late every day of the week. I believe that this trend has both positive and negative effects on local communities and shoppers. However, the drawbacks of this development are greater than its benefits.

Many shoppers have a positive impact on their financial conditions due to shops remain until late at night because this trend provides shopping opportunities to customers even at night. Many businesses and shop owners benefit from long opening hours, and they may achieve a better quality of life. Moreover, retail workers may receive additional income through overtime work. For instance, a worker who is heavily in debt may take out a bank loan and repay it by working overtime.

On the other hand, the shops which remain open until late every day negatively affect many employees and customer because many retail workers may experience mental and physical health problems such as depression and muscle pain due to long working hours. Likewise, many customers have a tendency to shop more because they have the opportunity to shop even at late hours, and they may spend too much money. This situation leads to financial difficulties for them.

Consequently, although there are some advantages, I believe that the disadvantages outweigh the benefits. Extended opening hours can harm employees’ health and encourage customers to overspend, leading to financial difficulties.