In many countries, people are spending less time with their families and more time at work. What problems can this cause for individuals and society? What solutions can be introduced to address these problems?

There is a widespread tendency of individuals spending less time with their families. While the desire to provide high standard of living is the main reason, this phenomenon can result in significant negative consequences in the long run.

Some people believe that the desire to provide quality lifestyle is the main contributor. In our contemporary world, overall quality is frequently connected with the bank accounts of people. In this sense, almost every individual wants to ensure better quality education, healthcare, and other public services for their families. This, in turn, might be challenging if they do not devote sufficient amount of time to their work to get high salaries. Since these sectors require a significant amount of money, it is justifiable why most people stay and over work every day. This case is particularly relevant in office-related works, as the amount of wages people get is comperatively linked with the amount of work they accomplish. Japan can be a compelling example of a country which has one of the highest rates of overworking workforce. Japanese individuals frequently prioritize the amount of salaries rather than family relationships. Additionally, they even delay marriage and having-child periods just because of high-cost of living. Conseqeuntly, many adults simply forget about their families to earn money and afford better standard of living.

Regarding personal and social effects, employees who prioritize working over communicating often suffer from poor communicating skills and even loneliness. Neglecting family-gathering events, forgetting to call parents, and simply not attending dinners might result in reducing family cohesion and weakend bonds. If such actions are done by a number of workers, communities might be also considerbaly damaged. Workaholic individuals might reduce social events, such as celebrations, traditional events, and community gathering moments, while inadvertantly making themselves socially-isolated. Such phenomenon might even pose severe burden on individuals psychologically. Having been faced problems, most people seek advice or help from others. In this case, they can get into a deep depression, given the fact they simply ignored community-based activities.

In conclusion, while the desire to earn more money and providing better lifestyles are the main contributors, I believe that such case pose serious harms, particularly regarding family bonds, individuals’ psychology, and social cohesion.