In many countries, people now wear western clothes such as suits and jeans rather than traditional clothing. Is this a positive or negative development?

Many people, around the world, are mostly choosing western way of clothes over their traditional ones. Mainstream practices in the fashion world and the high availability of these types of clothes are the main reasons for this, and I feel this development is rather negative for several credible reasons.

To begin with, there are several reasons why some styles of clothing are becoming more and more popular than traditional clothes. Firstly, fashion is one of the main reasons why this is happening. Western clothes, such as suits and jeans, are heavily promoted in the fashion world by highly successful fashion influencers, like celebrities. These people are promoting their clothes in such a way that others feel drawn to the style and tend to dress similarly. This way, western clothes are conquering a lot of markets in the fashion industry around the world. Secondly, it is common to see markets full of clothes sewn in the western style, while traditional clothes are sold only in a few stores. This availability of such clothes also adds to the popularity of the style. In other words, most people are more prone to buy what is available in their surroundings – local stores, social media feeds to name a few – and forget about their traditional style of dressing.

However, in my view, this trend is more of a negative for several reasons. One of the main disadvantages of overly practicing a certain style of clothing – western style in our case – over one’s traditional dresses is that it may eventually lead to the loss of culture. To elaborate, if people do not wear their traditional clothes more often, they feel awkward wearing them once they become uncomfortable due to the recency bias concerns. As a result, one country’s traditions might disappear along with the unique style of clothing. Another issue with being obsessed with a particular style is that the fashion industry eventually shrinks as more and more people stick to a specific way of dressing. Put simply, fashion world becomes identical, filled with Western clothes only. As a consequence, the diversity will be lost and the world might become a boring place to live.

In conclusion, there are several reasons why most societies choose to dress in a western way, successful promotions and availability of such clothes in almost every store being the most popular ones. However, I believe that this development can lead to devastating results considering the reasons provided