In many countries, people now wear western clothes such as suits and jeans rather than traditional clothing. Is this a positive or negative development?

In this contemporary era, western outfit such as jeans, coord sets and suits are in great demand among people in numerous parts of the world rather than giving priority to the traditional dresses. This western approach mainly comes from the western countries like America and Britain. People especially youngsters feels that they look more classy and modern in suits and jeans than in their traditional ones which they now find to be lethargic. Iy is a destructive phenomenon which is explained in the upcoming paragraphs.

Westernisation has a rapid growth from past few decades in many countries in terms of clothing, food and entertainment sources. Nowadays people prefer to wear more of jeans and T-shirts in their day to day life which is taking people mostly youth of other regions away from their traditional culture. To explicit it, individuals find their own country outfit to be out dated and less fashionable and find western tunics, jackets and trousers to be more fashionistic. For an example in a survey conducted by India in Delhi youngsters and even elderly people preferred T-shirts and trousers over salwar suits and dhoti.

Secondly, more consumption of western clothing has increased imports in many countries than exports which ultimately has brought the GDP of these countries down. To make it more clear, by importing from western countries other country’s credit goes to the countries where they get these things from . Although, buying then from their home countries is a bit cheaper still they prefer to spend more on brands like louie vitton , gucci and addidas. To site an instance, in Mumbai, India most of the people like to wear clothes of zara and H&M than skykar which is a better and cheaper clothing brand in India.

To sum up my opinion, i would reiterate that western clothing not only make people away from their cultural roots but also takes country’s GDP to a downfall trend. I think one should wear the clothes they feel comfortable in remembering their traditional roots.