In many countries schools have severe problems with student behaviour, what do you think are causes of this? What solutions can you suggest?

Nowadays, more young children tend to have poor behavior such as bullying, smoking, and using drugs, which causes serious concern in many schools regarding student discipline and management. In this essay, I will discuss the main causes of this problem and propose sensible solutions.

One of the main causes of this problem is the widespread use of social media. These days, youngsters can easily access the internet at any time, which exposes them to inappropriate content posted on social media platforms like Youtube, Tiktok, Instagram, or Facebook. As a result, children imitate such behavior without fully understanding its risks. For instance, some children perform violent pranks on their classmates that cause physical and psychological harm to victims. One solution for governments is to impose stringent regulations requiring social media platforms to monitor the online content and remove harmful material immediately. Another solution that has been already implemented in some countries is the age restriction on social media accounts for underage users. Moreover, to tackle this problem more efficiently, it also requires cooperation from parents by supervising their children’s online activities.

Another major cause is poor parenting. Many parents desire to provide the best education for their children by sending them to private or international schools. This is because these schools offer better curricula and a wider variety of school activities than public schools. However, these demands are tremendously expensive, causing parents to work harder and not have enough time to spend with their own children. Moreover, some parents believe that the responsibility for teaching children lies with the schools. Dealing with this problem requires schools and parents to share a mutual understanding that teaching a child to become a good citizen requires cooperation from both parties. For example, parents should teach their children basic manners like respecting other people, while schools focus on providing both academic education and practical skills.

In conclusion, students have poor behavior due to several problems. For instance, exposure to inappropriate content on social media and inadequate parenting. In my view, although the main responsibility for tackling this problem lies with governments, parents, and schools, all adults should be accountable for solving the problem as well. Unless governments regulate the online platforms and require content creators to take the social impact of their content into account, children will continue to be exposed to harmful online content. In addition, the combined efforts by parents and schools to bring up and educate children are also mandatory.