In many countries, the average life expectancy has increased significantly over the past decades. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

The mean life expectancy has drastically risen over the last few years in multiple nations. There are various advantages and disadvantages to this. Today’s society is a reflection of this fact and this essay will discuss both sides, along with relevant examples.

On the one hand, the advantages of an increase in the age of death across the nations is that it in turn push the retirement age of workers to a higher range, possibly leading to financial benefits for the countries. For example, many employees with high expertise will still be working, who can act as a great resource for mentoring the younger workers. Secondly, the society will have more people who are aged, allowing them to spend more time with their great grandchildren. This not only benefits the families, but also contributes in passing the generational wisdom to their lower off springs.

On the other hand, the negative outcome of this is that it can lead to a higher population growth as the mortality rate will be moving at a lower rate. The consequence of this can be an imbalance in the demand- supply eco chain. For example, the government will find it difficult to cater to the needs of a wide categories of population. This can include providing jobs for different people as there will be fewer jobs with many people in need of work. Apart from this, a reduction in the mortality age can also cause different kinds of pollution such as soil, water and noise pollutions. For instance, an enormous amount of waste will be generated from non- biodegradable wastes such as plastic, leading to soil pollution. With the rise in number of people, at a time, more people will be using their private vehicles, which can cause high noise pollution due to the honks from these vehicles and also air pollution due to the carbon monoxide being emitted by these vehicles.

In conclusion, the average life expectancy has both benefits and drawbacks including better work resources, general wisdom passing for the former and high demand and high pollution with respect to the latter. Thus, a balance in population and mortality is essential for a sustainable and balanced living in the near future.