In many countries, the proportion of older people in the population is increasing. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend for society?

In the contemporary society, it is a well known fact that the number of the senior population is rapidly increasing. While some believe that this a positive thing and proves that we are evolving as a society, others argue that the aging of the population may put restrains on our potential to grow.

Firstly, one major advantage of an older population is that they can still contribute to the society by sharing experiencies. Elderly people indoubtly have more knowledge about fields that everyone has to go through. For example, a senior person can help several students with the decision of what they would like to devote their life to. Furthermore, older people usually have more free time to get involved with community activities and volunteer work. Their participation has the potential to make social bonds stronger and more meaningful to everyone.

On the other hand, an aging population has some serious drawbacks that must be taken into consideration. The most aggravating of them all is that elderly people do not benefit the economy. The vast majority often require special medical assistance that can put a burden on their families and the healthcare system. Not to mention the dependence that they develop on younger relatives, which can also lead to a disavantage towards younger people. If the proportion of the senior population grows disproportionaly, governments may face difficulties financing the country, given that the work-force portion of the population is scarce.

In conclusion, even though an increase in the number of older people is a sign that society is indeed advancing towards the better, it must be balanced. The world cannot advance if the elderly outnumber the youth, since the vitality and future of a society rests upon the shoulders of the younger generation. de uma nota para essa redação