In many countries, the quality of life in large cities is becoming worse/ What do you think are the causes of this problem? What measures could be taken to solve it?

In today’s world, living standards of big cities are declining. In this essay, I will present some problems which reduce people’s quality of life and possible solutions.

The first problem of low living standards is traffic. In megalopolises, people use public and private transport excessively and these vehicles release greenhouse gases. It can cause climate change and environmental harm, which includes air pollution. Consequently, many people suffer from diseases such as respiratory diseases and cancer. Another large problem is water pollution from industrial factories that dump waste into rivers. In many cities, factories produce harmful chemicals and plastics which are thrown into the water. As a result, water may become harmful and it affects not only people but also biodiversity: fish, plants and animals. Furthermore, a high unemployment rate is one of the most serious problems that affect the quality of life in large cities. More people move from the countryside to urban areas to find a well-paid job, receive a good education and gain many opportunities. However, a high level of migration causes a lack of accommodation, unemployment and higher living costs.

There are several solutions that help solve these problems. First of all, public and private vehicles should be replaced with eco-friendly alternatives. People should use bicycles instead of cars or buses to reduce air pollution. The government should also create opportunities to cycle safely on dedicated bike lanes. Secondly, factories should be built far from cities and they should produce biodegradable products. Moreover, avoiding unemployment is an effective solution to improve the quality of life. The government should educate students not only in academic fields but also create opportunities to gain practical knowledge and skills. This would reduce migration by providing people with well-paid jobs and more opportunities in the countryside.

In conclusion, many cities face environmental problems such as air pollution, water pollution and unemployment that reduce people’s quality of life. However, changing the transportation system from cars to bicycles, using eco-friendly products and educating students with practical skills can help solve these problems.