In many countries, the use of social media has become increasingly popular among elderly people. Some people think this trend brings more benefits than drawbacks to the older generation. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

The use of social media by senior citizens nowadays has increased broadly in many countries. Some people say that the trend comes with more advantages for the elderly people. This essay totally agrees with that statement that it is crucial for older people to utilize social media because they need to communicate with their families and read some information from these platforms.

Social media has been used by many people today to fulfil their needs to talk with others. At this time, most of the elderly people live separately with their children, which makes them sometimes feel lonely and curious with their children’s activities. Therefore, it is crucial for them to learn how to use social media as a bridge of communication. Besides, their son or daughter also can monitor their parents’ condition from other places. For example, grandparents can contact their children if they want to communicate with them or with their grandchildren, which will bring a good mood for them. These factors can maintain the relationship among family members.

Furthermore, as a multifunctional platform, social media also can provide a lot of information that happened in many places. The elderly citizens need to be up to date with some information to prevent them from illnesses such as dementia. In addition, they also will be well prepared for some issues such as bad weather forecasts or catastrophic predictions as a part of mitigation.

In conclusion, the enhancement of technology brings profound impact for many people especially for the senior citizens. With this improvement, they will have a lot of time to spend with their family through social media and they will always get the newest information.