In many developing countries, there is a problem of declining quality of air and water. What are the causes of this and what measures could be taken to prevent this?

Situation with air and water pollution is getting worse every day in plenty of wealthy countries and the primary causes of this phenomenon are factories and constructions with are everywhere and the most viable solutions are to create a public awareness campaign warning people about the consequences of such actions as well as to educate their young people about this issue.

Air and water quality depends a lot on people’s actions. With the amount of pollution which is being produced planet will not be a safe place to life in the nearest century. Factories, industries and constructions produce the biggest amounts of waste because of a lack of awareness or indifference to the problems which are being caused because of these actions. For example, in Ukraine a lot of factories turned off the filters which prevent chemicals from entering the air and atmosphere, this led to massive issues with human-being’s health and the overall environmental state.

To tackle this problem the government should launch a publicity campaign in the media and in schools to educate people about the dangers of such actions and to encourage people to protest from such behavior. An awareness campaign could shed some light on this difficult situation and allow people to be open and honest about it. For example, a similar initiative in Japan resulted in 52% decrease in air pollution produced during 2014.

Another long-term solution to this predicament is to educate young people about the dangers of declining air and water quality. Children in schools could be taught about how to stand for their right for clean and fresh natural resources. They are also likely to teach their parents about the things they learned at schools and adults will also be influenced by this initiative. For example, school children in Germany were taught about the consequences of drinking unfiltered water and after telling their parents 74% of the households decided to clean the water using filters.

In conclusion, bad air and water quality is a major issue that can results in people’s health and well-being, however it can be addressed through educating people about the dangers.