In many developing countries, there is a problem of declining quality of air and water. What are the causes of this and what measures could be taken to prevent this?

Developing countries are struggling with all sorts of challenges. Some of the most prominent issues that governments have to face in these countries is the rise of air and water pollution. Key contributors to the declining air and water quality levels are industry and construction.

In developing countries, there is a clear lack of policy and enforcement of any policies that may already be present is another core issue. Regulators in these countries are unable to adequately report the consequences of manufacturing and construction. If there are flaws in the work done by different companies, it is often brushed under the carpet as bribes are often given to the people at the highest levels of government. The implications of long term pollution include a drastic increase in transmittable airborne and water borne diseases, poor quality of life and ultimately a decrease in GDP due to the suffering workforce.

To counter these problems there are several initiatives that can be taken at both the government and individual level. Governments first and foremost need to clearly spell out the laws for industry. Standard operating procedures need to be defined for all factories and organizations working inside the country. The laws and policies put in place by the government need to be enforced by the concerned authorities.

At an individual level, citizens should carefully observe their surroundings and notice any change in their environment. Constituents of a city should immediately reach out to their local and federal leadership if there is a rise in pollution. Any construction projects that may lead to long term degradation of the environment should be vehemently opposed by the residents of that area via protests and by highlighting the issue to their elected members of government.

To conclude, solving the issue of air an water pollution is a multifaceted problem. At an organizational level, the local laws defined should be observed and obeyed. Government officials need to ensure that the companies that operate within their jurisdiction are not damaging the environment in any shape or form, while individuals need to be vigilant and raise their voice when needed. The impact of climate change will be noticed the most by generations to come, so it is vital that people and government take swift action today.