International travel is becoming cheaper and cheaper, and more countries are now opening their doors to foreign visitors. Do you think that the advantages of this trend outweigh the disadvantages?

Travelling abroad is becoming more affordable than ever before and many nations are paving the way for more tourists to come. From my perspective, I believe its advantages outweigh drawbacks due to the positive impact on the economy and cultural exchange.

On the one hand, cheap international travel can negatively affect tourist destinations and local communities. The increase in tourist numbers leads to an increasing rise of environmental problems in popular destinations where it is difficult to control littering illegally and air pollution. Besides, natural areas such as beaches or forests may be severely damaged by irresponsible tourist activities such as camping or partying, the impacts are uncontrollable while local residents and governments often struggle to control overcrowding in these places. Moreover, local residents can be negatively affected as people can make cities noisier and more crowded in rush hour. Additionally, during tourist season, prices for accommodation, food, and transportation may increase because of the rising demand and local people may find daily life less convenient in heavily visited areas. For example, streets in some big cities in Vietnam suffer from pollution, illegal littering and overcrowding due to mass tourism.

On the other hand, international travel brings greater economic and cultural benefits. Mass tourism can greatly contribute to economic growth through money spending on hotels, restaurants, shopping, and transportation through their journey. This helps local businesses earn more income and creates many job opportunities for residents as well as alleviate poverty rates. In addition, with the proliferation of tourism, governments can also collect more tax revenue and invest on developing infrastructures through tourism income. Furthermore, travelling allows people to experience different cultures, traditions, and lifestyles as tourists become more open-minded and understanding toward other countries, allowing nations to preserve and promote their cultural identity to international visitors. For instance, tourism in Vietnam supports millions of jobs while helping foreign visitors learn more about Vietnamese culture and cuisine.

In conclusion, while the drawbacks of tourism are considerable, its benefits are outweighed due to the positive impact on economic development and promoting cultural exchange.