International travel is becoming cheaper and cheaper, and more countries are now opening their doors to foreign visitors. Do you think that the advantages of this trend outweigh the disadvantages?

In recent years, the prevalence of tourism worldwide and amicable diplomatic policies in the majority of nations have increased the affordability of travelling abroad. While I acknowledge the potential environmental impact of this trend, its profound benefits should not be overlooked.

To commence with, mass multinational tourism poses threats to local natural environments. To elaborate, the majority of tourist attractions are geographical features such as beaches, mountains, or rivers. Undeniably, not all tourists are responsible and environmentally aware, consequently, enjoying themselves at the expense of the area. For instance, while going swimming in beaches, some visitors might throw their trash right on the sand or into water for convenience. Unfortunately, minor actions as demonstrated from tourists can potentially cause detrimental issues like pollution, annihilation of sceneries, and loss of natural habitats. However, on balance, this conundrum is soluble in a sense through environmental education and strict laws for deterring people from destroying tourist attractions.

Conversely, the economic growth and popularization of national image from international travel are irrefutable. To clarify, the influx of travellers are likely to become prospective consumers for shops and recreational services, thereby leading to surges in profits for the local area and the country on the whole. It is also apparent that increasing demand in the fields of retail, hospitality and entertainment gives rise to employment opportunities, which, in turn, reduces unemployment and boost the overall GDP figure. Additionally, more accessible international tourism can help promote a country’s cultural and natural heritage. To illustrate, Hoi An, ao dai, and Dan ca quan ho are all unique images for identifying Vietnam and its citizens, which can only be thoroughly comprehended and appreciated through actual immersion in the nation.

Al things considered, although it is palpable that foreign travel holds both its own merits and demerits, I opine that the former outweighs the latter because tourists’ impact can be curtailed through raising awareness and exemplary laws. Hence, it is advisable that the current travel trends be welcomed with plans for curbing its negative effects.