In many large cities, people waste hours of their time every day because of traffic congestion on the roads. What are the causes of this? What solutions can you suggest?

It is becoming a controversial topic that several residents waste hours of their time every day due to traffic congestion on the roads, which happens in many big cities. In this essay, I will display some reasons for this problem before giving practical solutions.

One major for this phenomenon is the increase in population. In these days, it is commonly for rural residents to move to big cities to have greater job opportunities, with high levels of competitive workforce. In addition, residents in urban areas prefer using various kinds of vehicles such as cars, buses, bikes,… As a result, there are more traffic jams, leading to significant traffic congestion on the streets. Another reason is that the local authority lack cost and time in fixing low-quality roads. For instance, in Dong Nai city, the local authority allocates money in constructing routes occasionally, when the Long Thanh international airport is built and there are more investments in the city’s infrastructure. Subsequently, the quality of main routes or even pedestrians zones are much more alarming.

To satisfy this issue, there are several ways which can be easily done. First, every commuter should use public transport to reduce the number of vehicles on the roads. Additionally, residents can save time travelling by booking online delivers for basic demands such as food, goods delivery,… Second, the local authority need to allocate a considerable amount of money for constructing high-quality routes, investing in the area’s infrastructure. To make this much easier, the government need to launch stricter policies in infrastructure investments. As a result, the authorities have to obey the rules and show more concern about traffic congestion and other problems occurred in the cities.

In conclusion, this phenomenon is caused by crowded population in big cities and lack of authorities’ allocation in fixing roads. To solve this, residents should use less vehicles and book delivers when needed. Additionally, the government need to have stricter policies.