In many parts of the world, children and teenagers are committing more crimes? why is this happening? how should they be punished?

It is undeniable that the rate of juvenile crimes has increased in recent years in different nations. While there are some underlying causes that this phenomenon roots from, such as weak economic conditions and unsuitable role models, I am strongly inclined to accept the notion that adolescents should be punished to behave themselves, yet their punishments should be different.

To begin with, there are tremendous shifts in the lifestyles of people in modern era that causes the young to perpetrate crime, the most important of which is related to sluggish economic climate. Unfortunately, breadwinners are struggling to provide for their families and to make their ends meet. Since children and teenagers are willing to follow trends to seem attractive among their peers, they need a sizeable amont of money nowadays. Nevertheless, their parents cannot afford to accommodate their needs, so they consider doing the activities which break the public rules. Additionally, with the appearance of social media platforms, including Instagram, Facebook, and X, following the everyday life of celebrities, more so actors, has become commonplace among the youth. Hence, the negative influence of movies in which their idols break laws to support themselves and their families cannot be ignored.

Regarding the punishments to deter the juveniles from committing crimes, it is evident that they cannot go on a trial same as the offenders who commit serious crimes, as they are at vulnerable stage of their life. In the first place, governments should build prisons which are particularly designed for the youth. In this case they would be far from being familiar with more dangerous types of offences. Secondly, authorities can use the experiences of the ex-prisoners who have not done criminal offences no longer. Their experiences may have positive impact on them and act as a deterrant factor to not repeat crimes. Ultimately, government should explore the past in order to realize why this rate was low in ancient times. Also, if the young offenders forced to do research about traditional principles, they would be familiar with the invaluable social etiquette, the most crusial of which is setting their parents as a source of inspiration that may lead to decrease in the rate of juvenile crimes.

In conclusion, by taking all aforementioned explanations into account, it would appear that although there are numerous extra factors take their toll on the behavior of adolescents, taking such effective measures as building separate prisons with the experienced teachers and forcing to be far from modern technologies and trends can be considered appropriate punishments for them.