In many parts of the world, children and teenagers are committing more crimes? why is this happening? how should they be punished?

In recent years, young people are becoming criminals, committing more offences. This trend is mainly driven by the lack of parental supervision and peer pressure. There are several ways of punishing, depending on their crimes.

One of the primary reasons why children are committing crimes is the lack of parental guidance and supervision. Nowadays, parents work more than normal and spend little quality time with their children. Parents neglect children’s behaviour and do not monitor their actions. As a result, children spend time on social media and join some illegal platforms. For example, if children have not sufficient supervision, they may commit a crime in order to receive more attention from their parents. Another contributing factor is the negative influence of peers. Children may find bad company at schools, streets, or social media platforms. After that, they may imitate friends’ bad behaviour and join criminal groups or engage in illegal activities. In such cases, parents play a crucial role in children’s lives.

There are many effective measures to punish children’s crime. Young people are immature and imprisonment may cause psychological problems. For this reason, they should not be punished the same as adults. If they commit a minor crime, they should take rehabilitations, such as community services, counselling or education programmes. These kinds of punishments help children improve their behaviour. Furthermore, if they commit severe offences like vandalism, shoplifting or assault, they should receive juvenile detention centre. This is because, they may pose a threat to residents.

In conclusion, the insufficient parental supervision and peer pressure are the primary reasons why children are becoming offenders. Several measures may help to change children’s mind or behaviour.