In many workplaces, creativity and imagination are becoming more valued than technical expertise. Why is this the case? Is this a positive or negative development?

In present days, imagination and creativity skills are taking first place in terms of importance in a professional career. There are two main causes why this is happening: technological development and modern professions, which will be widespread around the world, and I firmly believe that it has more upsides than downsides.

To begin with, the skills that were mentioned before are really needed; in some form, until a certain time, it was believed that these skills were intended only for creative pursuits. For example, until 2010, almost or even absolutely all companies developing in the IT sector did not allow creatively developed people to work in, for example, cybersecurity, since it was believed that they were not capable enough. But now more and more individuals are achieving success by doing things in an alternative way. So, here is an answer that for a specific period, creative skills were not needed until the robotic and IT generation grew. This proves that most people with creative skills are needed in the field of IT and robotics, as well as to help create AI.

In my opinion, that is a positive trend, because as far as I know, creative people have a broad outlook and understand a lot more than those who have spent their entire lives studying something specific, so I think that employers should focus on such people. For sure, now it is a time of creative people generation; therefore, in the future, we would have much more investments and openings than we can see these days. The popularity of people with creative and broad thinking is growing, which is proven by their presence in popular companies such as Apple, Microsoft, Google, and the like.

In conclusion, the need for creative people lies in the emergence of such professions as artificial intelligence, robotics, and developments in IT technologies, and the case is that these spheres are in need of wide and creative knowledge. To sum it up, I think it’s very beneficial and useful for the future of the field and new discoveries.