In many workplaces, creativity and imagination are becoming more valued than technical expertise. Why is this the case? Is this a positive or negative development?

It is common for companies and businesses to embrace creativity and imagination more than technicality. This trend can be attributed to the current need to drive innovation and profits, and I believe this is a beneficial trend provided it does not come at the expense of technical skills.

The primary reason for the shift from technical skills to creativity is because businesses are seeking innovative ideas and inventions and gaining revenues. In the competitive world, possessing hard skills has proved to be insufficient to advance forward, hence companies should choose independent thinkers, who can think outside of the box, and come up with fresh ideas. These individuals can create products that align with current trends, attract customers, and generate profits. Take Meta company for example, applicants need to pass a test to evaluate how creative and imaginative they are, ensuring that these individuals are suitable for tasks, and can invent new products. As a result, Meta is one of the most successful companies in the world, far ahead of its counterparts, some of which have placed a heavy focus on technicality. This example testifies that soft skills such as being creative and imaginative should be prioritized in the workplace.

I believe this transition to signify creativity and imagination is positive. In the past, when these skills were not embraced, creative individuals often found it challenging to pursue their career, education, and hobbies. With the new emphasis on such skills, it has become easier for people to freely create and value their originality. By focusing on fostering creativity, companies and businesses can break the traditional stereotype, and enable employees and themselves to step towards a modern development. That said, technical skills must be equally valued. In many companies, especially tech-relied ones, the ability to precisely calculate, meticulously execute the plan, and logical thinking are essential for the growth of companies. Without technicians, companies may fail to produce products that meet the customer’s standards, leading to a decline in sales and revenues, contradicting the intended purpose. The meta company mentioned above frequently invests money in training their technicians and engineers to enhance their skills as it understands that technicality should also be the focused. Therefore, I strongly contend that although this is a positive trend, hard skills should not be neglected.

In conclusion, creativity and imagination are becoming increasingly valuable over technical skills because of the focus on innovation and profits. I believe that it is decidedly a beneficial trend if it is balanced with technical skills.