In many workplaces, creativity and imagination are becoming more valued than technical expertise. Why is this the case? Is this a positive or negative development?

In this era of modern technological revolution, workplace culture is evolving and a noticeable trend is seen in the workplaces where people with creativity and imagination are more valued than people with technical expertise. This is definitely a positive development and there are several causes behind it which are discussed in this essay,

In order for an organization to survive in this fast paced world, uniqueness and usefulness is key. Organizations need to come up with products and services that are special and useful to regular consumer. No company can survive if they produce things that are not differentiable with other similar products in the market. And to guide that organization to produce unique items, people with vision, creativity and imagination are essential. They come up with ideas that can change the whole world’s perspective. For example, Steve Jobs was one of these visionary people. When he came in front of the audience with the first iPhone, it was revolutionary. No other smartphone had features that were present in that phone and all on a sudden it changed the whole world. The world experienced a technological leap. Whereas, technical people can be replaced. If there are no visionary people, technical skills would be useless because there won’t be any place to apply that skill. That is why visionary people are more valued in the workplace and in my opinion this enforces a positive development in the system.

The main reason for this being a positive development is because it encourages diversity among organizations. Not only will this encourage companies to come up with unique and useful products but also there will be a healthy competition in the market which is eventually useful for general consumers. At this pace, the system will need to change and adapt accordingly at the root level. Now of course we will still need people with technical skills but to produce creative workforce, efforts need to be given to grow the wings of imagination. Because if there is no visionary people, all those technical skills will go in vain and there will be no uniqueness and competition in the market.

To conclude, modern workplace culture appreciates people with vision and creativity and in order for the companies to be unique and survive in the evolving market, it is necessary. This brings about a positive change encouraging variation in products and will eventually help the society advance for the greater good.