In many workplaces, creativity and imagination are becoming more valued than technical expertise. Why is this the case? Is this a positive or negative development?

It is a widely observed occurrence today for many companies to value useful traits like creativity and imagination more than experience of their employees. From my perspective, this change can with certainty yield positive outcomes, but technical expertise still has a lot of value and specific roles in a company are much more dependent on it. This essay will provide a deeper insight into this situation and discuss whether this change can have positive or negative changes on companies’ development.

It is a widely recognized phenomenon that a company can start becoming less flexible and show signs of reduced development if only individuals with great technical expertise work in certain positions. People with technical expertise often are older and young people often have more insight into the needs and interests of their peers. Hence, such individuals can often make more modern decisions for the development of their companies.

A company that is not adaptive to the needs of modern generations can face detrimental consequences. People with more expertise are not always that creative and creativity means innovation. A larger amount of innovative people within a company can form different opinions and ideas, and enable a company to have a look from different perspectives, consider more of them and form a much more sophisticated decision. Moreover, people with more expertise often demand higher salary but may not be as productive as a person with more imagination.

However, technical expertise can be a better option for roles such as chief finance officers and supervising roles which demand more experience with the field and don’t need much creativity or innovation. A company which has people with both high expertise and low expertise can create a competent learning environment to yield more productive outcomes.

In conclusion, technical expertise certainly has a lot of benefits and certain positions have higher need in individuals with more experience that others, but creativity and imagination should always be held as the most important as it tackles a lot more key factors for a company’s development.