In many workplaces, creativity and imagination are becoming more valued than technical expertise. Why is this the case? Is this a positive or negative development?

Over the last decade, people have extensively debated that technical knowledge in offices is being considered less important than using free mind thinking. This trend evolved from the necessity of new ideas to develop new products or services. I consider it a positive development because it can give the mind freedom to think and develop.

The need for innovative products and services creates a new way of thinking, becoming a trend. Thinking out of the box is needed with globalization and rapid technological development. This method of organizing ideas gives more tools to create new devices. Not being involved in the traditional way of thinking gave the opportunity for ideas that would never have been achieved before. For instance, companies like Apple give the opportunity to their employees to work in their own space and pace, and encourage them to think out of the box. This has proven excellent results in the creation of new applications and an increase in profits.

Freedom nurtures and facilitates the mind to grow; I believe it is a positive development. Thinking freely would open frontiers, breaking paradigms of how thinking was taught before. This development is how many inventions come to reality; it was well known in the past but forced to get structured in the modern world. For example, Leonardo Da Vinci´s books have several ideas that were considered out of mind at that time. However, most of them turn into reality after hundreds of years; this proves that the mind can create things ahead of time when it has freedom.

To conclude, for the past few years, people have argued about how technological expertise has started to be replaced by creativity and imagination. This is because of the increasing need for new services and products. Moreover, I believe it is a positive growth that leads one’s mind to the freedom of thinking.