In many workplaces, creativity and imagination are becoming more valued than technical expertise. Why is this the case? Is this a positive or negative development?

Nowadays there is an increasing demand for a creative workforce over technical experts. The main reason for this is the rising competition among both the job applicants and businesses.

Firstly, due to better education standards, the number of people with a degree has risen. As more people have the same qualifications, employers now seek candidates who also have other skills like creativity. For example, apart from academic success if the applicant also has abilities of marketing, it would boost the business. Moreover, there is a growing competition among businesses as well. Employing workers having extraordinary talent, such as social media influencers will give a competitive advantage to the firm. Therefore, it has become necessity for employers to be imaginative in order to achieve the business goals.

Since the value of imaginative minds has escalated, it made a positive impact on job opportunities for individuals. Companies now hire special marketing teams along with technical workers. To illustrate, food delivery companies in India, like Blinkit, Zomato, and Swiggy have hired content creators who promote them through social platforms including instagram. Furthermore, this change in job requirements have put a pressure on individuals to learn these skills. While completing their studies, people participate in other creative things. Thus, educational institutions started giving emphasis to non-academic activities as well.

In conclusion, more job options have emerged because of the shifting interest of employees from academic performance to imaginative minds.