In many workplaces, creativity and imagination are becoming more valued than technical expertise. Why is this the case? Is this a positive or negative development?

There is a fact that in this day and age, people in a large number of workplaces are emphazing on the value of innovation and imagination rather than technical expertise. This essay will elaborate on the reasons behind it before concluding that this is a disadvantageous phenomenon.

The rationale of this phenomenon is that some employers hold the belief that the support from technology can compensate for the lack of professional knowledge and experience. In the past, due to the lack of access to the Internet, companies had to focus on improving their employees’ occupational expertise in order to gain profits. In contrast, in this day and age, the advent of AI is believed to be able to make up for the lack of individuals’ techinical expertise, thus decreasing the value of it. As a result, people have to shift their focus to creativity in oder to make breakthroughs to their products, which AI is likely to inadequately meet this demand in comparison to human.

I am convinced that this is not a beneficial development because of its unstability. To clarify, it has been scientifically proven that AI does not have the ability to comprehensively understand and solve the problems, which companies encounter during their running process. Therefore, just putting emphasis on creavitity rather than paying attention to their employees’ technical expertise stands a chance of stiffle solutions to obstacles for the companies as well as causing financial insecurity. For example, the expertise of an accountant or economic analysist is highly valued rather than their creativity due to the nature and the importance of their job.

In conclusion, although many people focus on the value of creativity and imagination due to its ability to making breakthroughs for their products, I believe that this can bring more drawbacks than benefits because of the aforementioned reasons.