In most countries, animal and plant species are declining rapidly. What are the causes of this? What measures could be done to prevent this decline?

Various countries in our world are suffering due to the rapid extinction of different species. This is happening because of several factors: hunters, consumer attitudes towards the environment and ignoring the issue on social media. To regulate this drastic decline, some measures could be taken, such as penalties, changes in educational programmes and promotions on the Internet.

The main cause of the downward trend among plants and animals is linked to illegal hunters who kill animals deliberately. Rich people or famous persons frequently do it for fun to entertain themselves, while others do it to earn money. According to The Big Russian Statistic journal, 21% of all species in wild forests in 2025 were killed by illegal hunters in Russia. The next reason is tied to the whole population. A huge number of individuals usually use plastic or other non-self-decomposing products in their everyday routine, such as bags and bottles for liquids. They simply consume natural resources without any support. For instance, when a person uses 2-3 plastic items daily, he or she should bring all used plastic to a recycling centre to help plants develop without spoilers – said a scientist, Mr Ivanov, in his interview on TV in 2023. The last cause is the lack of propaganda on social media. Many people are barely aware of the problems with declining species. Mass media channels ignore the real situations in the wild, preferring to broadcast human interactions.

To solve the problem, firstly, governments should pay attention to poachers. Huge penalties can be applied to illegal hunters to prevent animal killings. Secondly, universities and schools can be changed and provide different lessons dedicated to the importance of recycling and using plastic, where students should be taught how they can reuse plastic items. Finally, a majority of people use the Internet to find different topics to discuss; therefore, promotions about animal and plant protection should be posted on every social media platform to increase people’s awareness.

In conclusion, although our world cannot cope with the rapid decline of different species due to hunters, uncontrolled plastic consumption and silence about it in the media, all is not lost yet. If governments start to manage poachers with big penalties, educational institutions introduce lessons explaining the issues with plastic, and the Internet is filled with news about the extinction of animals and plants, there is a big possibility that the present situation will change for the better.