In recent days, there has been a noticeable trend in Vietnam towards adopting Western architectural styles in residential housing. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

In these days, Western architectural styles are becoming increasingly popular among the houses in Vietnam. Many people perceive this as a modern trend in housing architecture, while others think that they are not as much appropriate as traditional styles. This essay will discuss both advantages and disadvantages of Western architecture in the context of Eastern styles, particularly in Vietnam.

On the one hand, there are various positives of constructing a building based on Western architecture. First, the styles from the West bring to individuals in the East a new wave. To explain for this, Western architecture has unique style compared to architecture in Vietnam, this style involves sharp edges, flat surfaces, and clean lines. They change the mind of people with traditional curl roof, wood door, and glass instead. People in Vietnam think that it is not only simple but also luxury and modern. These styles attract them with white color, glass, modern materials, all the things make their houses more solid, a reliable place to live. Second, using cutting-edge materials to constructing a Western architectural house could reduce the total price when individuals have a plan to build a house. Materials are becoming more modern and also affordable than ever before. It provides individuals with opportunities to own their houses without great amount of money. Therefore, people prefer modern architecture from the other side of the world than traditional architecture because of list of advantages above.

On the other hand, the trend of adopting Western architectural styles may have some negatives. To begin with, some styles can be considered as a great architecture in the West, however they can be an inappropriate way to build a house because of their structure in relation to solid conditions, and weather. In Vietnam, intense sunlight and heavy rainfall make the soil softer. It results in the structure of foundation designed by the West becomes more dangerous in use in the East. In addition, adopting Western architectural styles may erode Vietnam cultural identity. The traditional architectural styles reflect how Vietnamese live, their beauty in religious activities, more values than merely buildings. This trend could make people forget their origin. Thus, harmful outcomes of Western architectural styles are inevitable.

In conclusion, Western architecture brings about both advantages of modern way to build a house, affordable price for construction, and disadvantages of inappropriate buildings for some certain cases, eroding cultural identity. In my opinion, the benefits eventually outweigh any drawbacks.