In recent years, many people have started purchasing products they see advertised on social media platforms, such as Instagram and Facebook. Some people believe this trend has a negative impact on individuals and society, as it encourages impulsive buying and consumerism. Others argue that social media advertisements provide useful information and help individuals make informed decisions about what to buy.

In recent years there has been an ongoing problem resulting in a heated debate regarding the impact of social media advertisement and the concerns that it might result in consumerism, but some people stated that it might provide useful information and provide a much more convenient shopping experience. In this essay I will breakdown the views from both sides and concludes it with my opinion.

The controversy surrounding social media advertisement is inescapable, some argues that social media advertising provokes people into impulsive buying. This becomes a much bigger catastrophe as there has been allegations that social media companies have a special algorithm mechanism to personalized the ads shown in a person’s page, these measures believed to be pushing the person presented with the ads to perform impulsive purchases as the ads are repeatedly being shown on their page.

However, some stated that even though the allegations are true it still does more good than it is bad as it is actually proved to be right on target, and it rather helps potential buyer to gain access to specific websites that provides them with the items they need without having to go through the hassle of searching it on their own, which isn’t possible without the help of the personalized ads.

In conclusion, I believe that the development of social media advertisement is effective in accommodating the need for a faster and practical shopping experience, it is a much-needed instrument in this digital era.