In recent years, the rise of ebooks causes the decline in paper books. Some people argue this is a good step forward while others do not. What are the advantages and disadvantages?

Over the past few years, considerable changes have been seen in the reading behavior of individuals as they give more preference to electronic books despite the manuscript. This phenomenon has several constructive outcomes such as convenient to use and environmentally friendly. However, it has some negative sides too such as adverse effects on health and libraries are on the verge of extinction.

To commence with, there are plethora of benefits of reading books online. First and foremost is convenient and cost-effective. To elaborate it, in this contemporary era, everything is available online. A person can read according to their taste while sitting at home. There is no need to visit shops and purchase manuscripts. In addition to this, this development proliferates the interest of juvenile towards study. For example, statistics reveal that in China, learners tend to read from two hours to five hours daily after invention of e-books because of cheaper rates and easy to access. Thus, this trend has multifarious pros.

On the contrary, digital reading has some darker sides as well. The predominant one is that it has a detrimental impact on health. In other words, when a child starts to read books online, it not only puts great pressure on eyes but also radiates harmful rays which impact on heart. As a result, the health of juvenile people gets worse steadily. Moreover, it impacts the economy of the nation. For instance, in the past, people purchased newspapers, magazines and even visited libraries to read newspapers. Ever since, era of digitalization has arisen, people spend less on buying papers. Consequently, the nation’s economy is declining.

To conclude, even though e-books have made the lifer easier due to easy access and less cost, it put strain on people’s physical and mental condition as they get more indulge on phones and computers for reading.