In some countries, despite the decline in serious crime, people feel less secure than ever before. What do you think are the main causes of this problem and what actions can be taken to solve it?

Although many nations are experiencing a gradual decrease in brutal crimes, their residents still worry about own safety more than before. From my perspective, the main reason for this issue is that individuals are revealed to harsh crime cases daily, which creates public anxiety. In order to solve it, governments should allocate part of their money to educational campaigns, showing the exact number of crimes.

Even though the risk of crime is significantly lower, people experience stress about their well-being since they are constantly exposed to harsh crime cases. Nowadays, in the rise of digital era, news and social medias have became the main sources of information among individuals. However, they report not only data about politics, but also about criminality , especially harsh or violent ones. This type of information is often detrimental for viewers’ emotional wellbeing, especially for those who suffer from high level of anxiety or have poor mental health. For instance, the latest study has shown that news feeds usually contain 84% of information about criminality, which gets reported to viewers daily. As a result, not only people will be aware about the latest news, but also see possible crime everywhere.

In my opinion, the most effective way to solve the problem with public anxiety is to make the government fund in public awareness campaigns, in order to educate citizens about the accurate information. By showing the average number of criminality, individuals may find a sense of relief, as this rate is significantly lower than it seems in news or social medias. Moreover, residents will be more aware about crimes around them and be educated with the help of local programs. For instance, the Kazakh government organise a public program about crimes and criminality rates annually to avoid the public anxiety about it. As a result, individuals will worry about their own live safety less, as they understand that crime numbers are dropping gradually.

In conclusion, even though the overall number of criminality among people is decreasing sustainably, individuals worry about their safety more than in previous years. I believe that this issue happens because people most of their time, consume data about criminality from news and social medias, which can be either misleading or inaccurate. However, the most effective method to prevent public anxiety is to make governments fund in public awareness programs.