In some countries, it is illegal for companies to reject job applicants their age. Is this a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, companies have various criteria for accepting job volunteers. Some people think that if a person passes technical features, he should be accepted regardless of his age. However, others, including me, believe that the drawbacks of this subject outweigh its advantages.

Firstly, psychologists say that humans should become older in the normal growth process. It means every individual ought to hang out with his/her peer group since they have much more in common with each other. Although it seems that in workplaces age is not as significant as in social environments, a big age difference between colleagues may cause different problems like misunderstanding of their attitudes and ineffective communications. As a result, workers can’t be as productive as they should have been as they miss the chance of close interaction and effective communication. Moreover, such issues may draw the top managers’ attention to themselves and detract time from other vital parts of the company.

There is an opposite argument that the limitation of age criteria in accepting new applicants can decline the opportunity to find young creative employees. In other words, some young graduates can evaluate companies’ difficulties from various perspectives which allows them to propose optimal solutions. Nevertheless, this chance is not as much as it could overcome drawbacks.

In conclusion, today, I believe that hiring new staff regardless of their age group has more disadvantages rather than positive points. It may cause some serious problems such as conflict of viewpoints and destructive interactions which can definitely decrease the output of companies.