In some countries, it is illegal for companies to reject job applicants their age. Is this a positive or negative development?

In several nations, there is an enactment that prohibits businesses to miss candidates for their age. From my perspective, I believe that this regulation is a positive development.

First of all, implementation of laws to ban companies from rejecting workers through their age can create a creative and flexible working environment with diverse age groups. To clarify, with accepting jobs for workers without age assessment, the companies can both possess youth employment, who may provide trending ideas, and older workers, who have a lot of specialized knowledge and adequate experiences to establish long-term strategy. From then, significantly increasing productivity for the businesses.

Moreover, a law against age discrimination also helps businesses avoid missing out on skillful employers. Specifically, with this law, businesses are required to evaluate and scrutinize candidates’ qualifications and experience fairly instead of age. For example, an 55 year old engineer, who has high skill can be passed by companies and be replaced by younger ones if there is not a regulation that prohibits assessment based on age.

In conclusion, prohibiting the rejection of applicants based on age can bring some positive results such as avoiding wasting talents and generating an innovative workplace.