In some countries, online shopping is replacing shopping in stores. Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

With the advancement of technology, numerous individuals argue that there is a trend towards closing physical marketplaces due to the popularity of e-commerce. From my point of view, I am not in favor of this growth because both virtual shopping and offline shopping have their special benefits.

On the one hand, it is undeniable that virtual buying offers consumers convenience. Firstly, people can feel more comfortable thanks to the flexibility when shopping online. This is because almost all products sold are available on the Internet, people can make purchases every time and everywhere just with a smartphone or a laptop. Secondly, there is a wide selection of online products for customers to buy. As an illustration, if people want to buy clothes from a local brand or an international one, they can select them from a wide array of models online instead of going too far to buy.

On the other hand, traditional shops also have unique advantages that cannot be replaced. Firstly, you can have the opportunity to check the items out to ensure their quality. To illustrate, should you happen to buy perfumes or cosmetics in stores, you can try them in advance to choose the most suitable for you. Moreover, you can buy the items immediately in a traditional store after selecting them. Unlike shopping online, physical retail stores do not require you to wait and pay for shipping, so you will find it beneficial, especially in an unexpected situation. For instance, if you lack cooking spices when preparing dinner, you only need to go straight to the nearest grocery and bring them home immediately.

In summary, because both virtual shopping and face-to-face shopping can provide consumers with great satisfaction, I believe the fact that shopping on the Internet is replacing shopping in physical stores is negative