In some countries, online shopping is replacing shopping in stores. Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

Whilst contemporary technology supplants the old ways of shopping, conventional in-person transactions persist as the customary approach for certain individuals to fulfil their requirements. I am of the belief that acquiring goods through online platforms represents the optimal means to meet our needs due to its expeditious nature and expansive array of choices.

On the one hand, traditional in-store shopping proves to be time-consuming and demands considerable effort. In other words, when a customer is in need of a product, there is no necessity to spend excessive time scouring retail outlets. Besides, some clients do not have enough time for this process due to their jobs or responsibilities. Others do not have the physical ability to move around shops, not to mention the disabled individuals and the elderly who cannot move without assistance. For example, according to a Bloomberg article, it is found that customers spend an average of three hours seeking a product in physical markets, whereas the same product can be obtained in just forty minutes through digital markets. Hence, what can be said is that in-store buying harbours more drawbacks in comparison with online buying.

On the other hand, online markets offer a broader range of products and services within confined storage spaces and at lower costs. This implies that an individual looking to initiate a business on a

modest budget can procure goods for resale on a website or through a mobile application without the need for hiring sales staff or renting physical storefronts. For instance, according to the Journal of Business, internet-based enterprises demonstrate a higher likelihood of advancement compared to their offline counterparts, attributed to streamlined marketing strategies and cost-effective expenditures. Thus, what I want to clarify is that the Internet has eased the process of launching a new business and incentivized individuals to enhance existing investments.

After what has been discussed, it can be assumed that despite the prevalence of traditional markets and retail establishments, it is evident that online purchasing proves significantly more convenient for both consumers and sellers. I am of the opinion that online markets will win the race against offline ones. Therefore, it is recommended to promote online stores and reduce their tax burdens.