In some countries, online shopping is replacing shopping in stores. Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

The rise of online shopping has significantly transformed the retail landscape in many countries, leading to a shift from traditional stores to digital marketplaces. This development has both positive and negative aspects which will be discussed below.

On the advantages, online shopping offers wonderful convenience for consumers. It allows people to shop from the comfort of their homes at any time, by passing to go to physical stores which are beneficial for individuals with busy schedules, mobility issues,… In Vietnam, Shopee, Tiktok,… are becoming popular digital marketplaces that provide a variety of products and buyers can visit those websites and make purchases quickly and easily. Additionally, customers can compare prices between brands or products, read reviews and make informed purchasing decisions. For instance, we can contrast the televisions of Sony and Samsung which are difficult to do at physical stores.

However, the shift towards online shopping also has its drawbacks in several ways. The first negative effect is that shoppers can not try products before making a purchase so they will not know if it fits their bodies, their skin tone…

Moreover, the lack of immediate interaction also means that consumers can not inspect products before buying, leading to potential dissatisfaction because these are often less reliable and have poorer quality than expected. Finally, online shopping raises issues related to data privacy and security. Consumers are required to share personal and financial information, which can be vulnerable to cyberattacks and fraud.

In conclusion, the positive side of online shopping still stands out over the negative side and it is believed that e-commerce platforms will replace physical stores very strongly.