In some countries, only few young people go to classical music concerts or or play classical music. Why? Should young people be encouraged to attend and learn more?

It is often thought that there is a diminishing number of teens and youth which are interested in classical music nowadays. The essay will detect possible causes and explain why people ought to play this genre of music.

To begin with, with the development of music industry classical music may appear conservative and old-fashioned, in comparison to modern genres. For instance, young people tend to listen to pop and hip-hop rather than to Mozart’s or Beethoven’s songs. Moreover, today’s society significantly relies on following trends, so that classical music becomes more and more overshadowed by pop culture. That means, preferences of youth are frequently changed by social environment, leading to a decline of cultural heritage.

However, there is a possibility that the popularity of this musical genre will be revived by encouraging young people to perform and to acquire respective skills. I personally believe that if teenagers were exposed to a great variety of song styles in schools, it could influence modern industry and would create suitable conditions for further diversity of music. In addition, inspiring young people to play might lead to enhancing creativity and fostering self-expression. To draw an example, teenagers and children could find their hidden artistic talents in singing and writing music. As a result, it can enrich and preserve our culture.

To summarise, the vast majority of young people don’t prefer classical music due to changeable trends and replacement by new genres. However, it is supposed that youth should be inspired to learn and value classical creations.