In some countries people spend long hours at work. Why does this happen? Is it positive or negative development?

There are many factors influencing the company productivity. Among them there could be counted technological progress, having employees get better education and qualification, raising salary. Some people also mark the continuity of the work day as an important factor of business success. Yet there exist ongoing discussions on this matter. Further below I shall bring up both pros and cons of longer work day.

Let’s talk about disadvantages first. Many researches and statistics show that actually long working hours affect human’s brain badly. It can be quite difficult to concentrate on the same tasks for 8+ hours long, which causes to make mistakes during work. Fatigue mental condition clearly influences not only company productivity in a worst way possible, but also the employees’ way of life. Job tiredness can increase the chance of having depression in future.

Yet there can also be found advantages in a long work schedule. Longer work hours can be granted with allowance above salary. Especially, for a beginner employee longer work hours can become a basement for career boost and help in getting a better position in a company.

As it can be seen, the answer to the stated question is not all simple and one-sided. The best answer could offer is to say there is a balance needed in everything. In real life conditions there can happen any urgent cases which would cause to stay longer at work. You should also take in sight the necessity to make some effort to get progress on your job for a better position. But at the same time one should allow himself a proper amount of time for rest and mental regeneration, so not to burn out later.