In some countries people spend long hours at work. Why does this happen? Is it positive or negative development?

In recent years, the society has been increasing and become more popular. That’s why people spend most their time working hardly. This essay will give some reasons about this phenomenon and show some negative developments.

One reason is that living standard now is crucial for all people around the world. Each person almost wants to have higher salaries to spend on their daily life. Besides, there are some families that having lots of members, as a result, the expenditure that they have to pay will increase more. Therefore, thay all need to work harder in order to support their family members. For example, some men in several families, being a breadwinner so they have to earn money as much as possible. Maybe to support their wife who is a pregnant or their children if they want to study abroad. Another reason is job competition, nowadays this situation is very popular in the world. Some workers have a wish that promoting their position so that they will have more opportunities to develop and earn more money. In consequence, people can be addicted to their work so much and spend long hours on this.

However, if this situation continues happening in long terms, this may be lead to some negative things. First, about their mental health, taking long time working day by day, they can get stressed easily. Because everyday thay have to deal with lots of things such as failure in their work or some complex situation that they have to tackle it. As a result, their health will seriously increased, they can not recharge their energy, leading to anger with no reason. Evidence shows that 65 percent of people who go to hospital, mostly be stressed because of their work. Second, if they just focus on their work without hanging out, they can not build any relationship in the society. So, it is clear that taking long time at work is very harmful to both mental health and social skills.

To conclude, spending long hours at work can lead to some negative effects. Therefore, it is essential for people to change their lifestyle and live healthier and better.