In some countries people spend long hours at work. Why does this happen? Is it positive or negative development?

In recent years, the prevalence of long working hours has become increasingly common in several countries. This trend can be an outcome between the combination of high living cost and heightended jobs demand. I contend that the proliferation of extended work hours carries more detrimental effects than advantages.

First of all, there are two primary reasons why people attend work. One important factor to promote adults spending more time on work is adaptation with social develepment. In addition, the valuation in numerous products are going up day by day to higher prices and also dwellers need to meet the standard of living. As a result, people have a tendency to work harder than normal. Secondly, the majority of people who want to get rich have significantly grown. Obviously, well-paid salaries are more attractive than anything else as well. People who want to promote innovation in jobs tend to spend the whole day at their offices and solve a multitude of problems.

Although working longer hours can help people gain more money and improve overall well-being, I strongly believe that the negative effects related to health problems are very hazardous. Specially, people who work with high frequency may have trouble with balancing between work and relationships. Their time schedule is very strict and they spend almost all of their time working. Therefore, they will lose their surrounding relationships. For example, a corporation in Viet Nam required staff to work more than 8 hours per day, which led to those employees organizing a protest in front of the company to make pressure. Furthermore, feeling exhausted and frustrated usually happens if people overwork.

In conclusion, it seems to me that the increase in living costs and amount of workload have a significant contribution to extending the working hours of most employees nowadays.