In some countries people spend long hours at work. Why does this happen? Is it positive or negative development?

These days, there is a tendency for individuals to spend a considerable amount of time working at home. From my viewpoint, I believe that this trend would bring more harm than good to people.

In this day and age, going to work is becoming less prevalent, especially among the young. Initially, this is because their productivity while working at home would be fostered. Comfortability is instrumental in enhancing laborers’ productivity; working at home allows individuals to wear whatever they want without criticism from colleagues and take a rest whenever they want as long as they complete their work on time and effectively. Furthermore, in some developed corporations and conglomerates, the relationships between employees and each other or employees and superiors are not good. By working at their own houses, individuals do not have to interact regularly, and this would lessen the aversion between them, and their relationship might be better.

However, I am of the opinion that this trend would have more detrimental impacts than advantageous ones. To begin with, it is hard for superiors to ensure the process and quality of work. If everyone worked at home, their work could be disqualified without knowing about it because no one observes them. For example, operating meetings online would trigger a considerable amount of problems, such as failure in conveying information and demands, which would lead to several unpredicted and unprepared problems in working. As a result, the quality of work would decline and individuals’ expertise would be doubted, and their salaries would be affected significantly due to their disqualified work. In Vietnam, for instance, a significant number of young laborers want to work from home due to their belief that it would lead to better productivity. After that, they find out that working from home is not as straightforward as they thought because the low-quality connection with colleagues has led to numerous types of problems that cannot be addressed easily.

In conclusion, this essay has thoroughly analyzed some reasons to comprehend why people are more likely to work from home. Although the above-mentioned reasons exist, I still concur that this tendency has more detrimental impacts than advantageous ones.