In some countries people spend long hours at work. Why does this happen? Is it positive or negative development?

It is a fact that citizens in some countries spend most of their time working. This is due to various reasons and has both positive and negative sides.

The first reason why people overwork is they need to make a living. Over time, daily expenses have been increasing significantly, which forces people to increase their workload to earn enough money. Especially, when people are breadwinners they have a more serious sense of responsibility because they have to take care of their family members as well. The second reason is because of the ever more increasing work demands. As the world has always been developing and more competitive , people need to work overtime to maintain their job positions.

From my perspective, this is a negative phenomenon because of two main reasons. The first one belongs to mental and physical health. Working too much depletes time and energy for workers to relax and exercise. Even more seriously, people who overwork do not have time to spend with their family members and friends which could lead to people leaving them.

In conclusion, this issue of overworking is becoming popular in this day and age and have a lot of negative effects along sides, affecting not only the worker but also their family members and friends.