In some countries people spend long hours at work. Why does this happen? Is it positive or negative development?

Recent years have witnessed extended working hours. This essay attempts to shed light on underlying reasons behind this phenomenon before highlighting several negative consequences of this trend.

There are two main reasons explaining why it takes people a lot of time to work. One primary reason is that the escalating cost of living in a number of countries has mainly caused the majority of individuals to work extra hours. This leads to overwork, while their household economy might increase. Take the Japanese as an instance, who spend around 8 to 12 hours working. As a result, Japan ranked third in the world’s economy. In other words, today’s highly competitive Job market contributes to employees are required to take on responsibility and handle multiple tasks.

Despite these aforementioned causes, I am convinced that they come at the expense of more pronounced problems, while it ensures financial stability . The primary concern is that an individual’s mental health might be harmed by the overwork load, leading to mental issues such as depression, stress, fatigue. Additionally, the lack of rest and relaxation time which is mainly caused by the extent of working hours, contributes to the reduced working performance. As a consequence, the overwork load has pros and cons.

In conclusion, a long hours working is largely driven by factors such as the increasing cost of living and the highly competitive job market. Notwithstanding certain benefits , this trend should be seen as a negative.