In some countries people spend long hours at work. Why does this happen? Is it positive or negative development?

Nowadays, people tend to focus absolutely on their job. In this essay, I will clarify the root cause of this phenomenon and from my perspective, I am of the opinion that this tendency is advantageous.

On the one hand, there are different explanations for this trend. First, people are being more and more hard-working in their expertise because of their promoted ambition. In this day and age, the labour market are extremely competitive due to the economic enhancement, everyone has an opportunity to attain a good-quality education without any gender inequality like in the past, making people now not only want a stable occupation but they also desire to be recognized, to have a high status in society through their career prospect. As a result, workers, especially in major industries such as technology or finance, are putting all their effort to prove their ability in order to be considered for a higher position. Second, greater income also plays a crucial role in making people concentrate comprehensively on their work at present. As we can witness, in many countries nowadays, the price of essential assets, especially real estate, is skyrocketing with an unstoppable pace every year, making it a heavy financial burden for young employers and the full-time spending on their working is the only way to tackle this problem.

In my viewpoint, I assume this tendency is beneficial because it will be vitally helpful for economic growth, especially in developing countries. Specifically, if every resident at working age completely focuses on the career path, the economy will rise considerably because the more diligent labourers are, the more values created in a country. As a consequence, this will attract a vast majority of foreign investment in various majors and create more motivation for local enterprises to expand their business, paving a way for the prosperous time for a nation. For example, South Korean has suffered from one of the poorest countries in 60s to become top 10 economy in the world in 2022 due to the industrious generation that attracted numerous technological investment from the US and Japan.

In short, there are many reasons for the present worker to spend so much time on their work such as promotion and money. Personally, I think this is useful because of its valuable impact to the economy.