In some countries people spend long hours at work. Why does this happen? Is it positive or negative development?

Prolonged working hours within in corporate environments is not a rare occurrence in contemporary society. This is mainly attributed to the financial burden placed on each person as well as the competitive working environment among employees. I strongly believe that this instance poses a serious threat to not only individuals’ physical health but also their mental health.

More and more people opt to invest the majority their time at work due to the soaring living expenses and the intense competition at work. Firstly, life, especially in urban areas, is expensive. Essential expenditures such as food, utilities, and transportation have significantly increased, compelling people to extend their working hours to afford them. Another reason is the competition among the staff in corporations. During economic recessions, many workers feel an urge to push themselves harder to cope with the increased workload in order to remain competitive with their peers. Therefore, they are willing to devote most of their day and believe that by taking on more responsibilities they can excel their colleagues.

This, however, does more harm than good, as it will directly damage a person’s health, both physically and mentally. Though a higher income can facilitate one’s life, a demanding schedule will deteriorate his health as he will have less time for exercising or relaxing. People will also have to deal with health problems caused by stress from the workplace, for instance, high blood pressure or diabetes. Furthermore, those extra hours spent at work will leave people at risk of mental health challenges. Over time, they are far more likely to be distant from those they love and cherish, which can result in depression or isolation.

In conclusion, the motivation to work extensive hours is understandable; however, it is vital to acknowledge the adverse effects on a person’s overall well-being. The financial returns from long working hours will come at the expense of the person’s health.