In some countries people spend long hours at work. Why does this happen? Is it positive or negative development?

Most part of the world started shifting into long-hour work culture in order to keep growing. Even though, it made huge impact in many economical aspects, its efficiency is quite questionable, as it also brings negative effects. In this essay, I will analyse the reason of such raising “working trend” and explain why it can be represented in adverse side.

To start with, I would like to highlight the main points of why people tend to work more than ever before. Our life is changing in unimaginable speed and to keep up with this pace became impossible with working in traditional ways, so now in order to be financially stable and feed their family, they had no way but to accept it. For instance, bright example of such life is in East Asia, espesially, people in Japan. As ever-working country, people used to this lifestyle and can easily tolerate up to 10 hours of work a day. Non only it is because they already have such working culture does not nesessarily mean that they live better life that anyone or have heavenly high salaries and in fact, Japan has quite high rates of suiside here instead. Thus, long hour working does not always equal sucsessful life, but cn become a nightmare.

Undoubtedly, we could consider both sides of this tendency, but disadvantages clearely outweight advantages. First of all, long-hour working jobs always existed. Security, shifting, medicine: surgeons in particular, employers and more can be considered as positions requiring long hour working, but they also had worthy wages. Unfortunately, most of the office workers work extra hours than they should do and it can be because of the explotation of the workforce. Other negative effects count health issues. Because of the lack of needed rest, employees face mental health problems. In addition, they tend to struggle to have work-life balance. Thats why, such working conditions have more negative effects.

To sum up, some people might consider long hour working jobs worthy, but in fact it can cost them more.