In some countries people spend long hours at work. Why does this happen? Is it positive or negative development?

Long working hours among people working in corporates is not a rare occurrence in the contemporary society, which is the result of the financial burden placed on each person as well as the competitive working environment among the employees. I strongly believe that this instance poses serious threat to not only the individuals’ physical health but also their mental.

More and more people choose to spend the majority of their days at work due to the high living costs and the intense competition at work. Firstly, life, especially in the urban areas, is expensive. Basic necessities such as food, gas, electricity or transportation has significantly increased, driving people to take on extra hours to afford them. Another reason is the competition among the employees in corporates. During the economic recession, many workers feel an urge to push themselves harder to cope with the increased workload in order to remain competitive against with others. Therefore, they are willing to devote most of their day and believe that by taking on more responsibilities they can thrive and compete against other colleagues.

This instance, however, does more harm than good as it will directly damage the person’s health, both physically and mentally. Though higher income can facilitate one’s life, such tight schedule will deteriorate his health as he will have less time for exercising or relaxing. People will also have to deal with health problems which are caused by stress from the workplace, for instance, high-blood pressure or diabetes. Additionally, those extra hours spent at work will leave people at risk of mental health problems. In the long run, they are far more likely to be distant from those they love and cherish, which can result in depression or isolation.

In conclusion, it is understandable the needs to work long hours; however, it is vital to acknowledge the adverse effects on one person’s overall well-being. The financial returns from long working hours will come at the expense of the person’s health.