In some countries the use of bicycles is decreasing as people prefer other means of transport. Why is this happening? What can be done to encourage the public to use bicycles more? Give reasons for your answer and include relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

With the upcoming wave of globalization, people have started using other means of transport which in turn has made bicycles a neglected transport option. This essay will put light on why this is happening and what can be done to encourage people to start using bicycles again.

One key reason for the decline in use of bicycles is the use of faster and more convenient modes of transport like trains, buses and taxis. Where one can simply board a bus and get off their desired stop without the hassle of finding a parking spot and riding for long duration. People use metros and taxis which are more comfortable and are available at almost every hour of the day. The other reason being safety, bicycles are not safe when compared to other means of transport making it not so suitable.

To encourage more people to use bicycles again for their daily commute, people must be made aware about the benefits of cycling. Awareness camps and webinars must be organized where people must be educated about the health and environmental benefits of using bicycles. The government must construct dedicated cycle paths to reassure daily commuters about their safety, also tax benefits should be given to bicycle purchasers.

In conclusion, the decline in use of bicycles is due to the urbanization issue and increased reliance on convenient public and personal transports. However, by improving cycling infrastructure and increasing public awareness, more and more people can be drawn back into using bicycles on a daily basis contributing to the environment and health of the people.